Home>> Maps of China>>China Polical Map

China Political Map

Under the Chinese central government there are 23 provinces, five autonomous regions -- Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Xinjiang, Guangxi and Tibet -- and four cities -- Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai and Chongqing. China's topography varies from mountainous regions with towering peaks to flat, featureless plains. The land surface, like a staircase, descends from west to east. Melting snow from the mountains of western China and Tibet -- the Qinghai Plateau -- is the main water resource for many of the country's largest rivers, such as the Yangtze River and the Yellow River. Across the mountains on the eastern edge are the plains of the Yangtze River Valley and northern and eastern China. As the homeland of the Han Chinese, the plains, known as the Middle Kingdom or Zhongguo, are the most important agricultural areas and the most heavily populated.

China Polical Map

Maps of China